top of page
  • C. J. Korryn

The Unbeliever's Threads of God In "Secular" Fiction



I was once talking with a mentor of mine years and years ago, before I really even took to writing with the passion that I have now. Don't get me wrong, I have loved writing since I was a freshman in high school, when I had a vocabulary assignment that I had to write a fiction story for. It hasn't always been a passion that burned so much inside me-back then it was simply a joy. Now, it is a fire inside me that will consume me, if I don't release it! Now, it is a pressure cooker of creativity that builds up within me, and if I don't write fiction I feel like I will explode. Writing fiction has become such a passion of mine, that I long for the day that I can earn enough money to quit "my day job" and spend an 8 hour day writing and editing for my next book. Anywhoo, I digress.

My mentor and I were talking about movies one day, and I remember him telling me that he would often take his younger brother to movies of all sorts. After the movie he always took his brother out to eat and discussed the movie. They would discuss what was scriptural (sorta biblical or the such) and what was the opposite from biblical principles. This really struck me, and years later I sit here writing this post about the threads of God in fiction. Now, this idea with movies can be applied to my post about fiction writing. Just like movies-and many movies come from books-God seems to be threaded, rather unintentionally by the author. You see I have seen many movies and indeed, have written a "secular" novel (I hope to get published soon) that unintentionally included biblical principles or ideas. So here is the thing, though-everything contains biblical ideas. The presence of God surrounds us, and as such He bleeds through, into the natural realm ever so subtly-even into the most anti-God writings, sometimes. The only place the presence will not be shown is hell-you know the end times and all-but even in the most hellish places on earth right now, there is some semblance of God in the atmosphere. It is endued in creation-His presence. With that said, I believe one can always look close enough, even into those books intended to bring the reader away from Christ (which I will be discussing in a later post), and find the truth of the gospel in it. Granted, one can also look into the writings of the author who intends to bring one closer to Jesus and find that which might be considered "wrong" or "evil" or "bad". If we look hard enough we can always see what we want to. We can see it for bad or see it for good. It is up to us.

So I said all that to say this. It is my belief that even the most vile "secular" writing often has traces of a biblical principle that we can discuss the truth of the Gospel with-even evangelize with. Weather it be Lord Of The Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, The War Of The Worlds, Transformers, Superman, The Avengers, The Guardians Of The Galaxy, or Harry Potter, there is always something we can pull from it as a teaching tool that can point to Christ. Yes-even Harry Potter-but that is for another post.

As I have said before, I don't really believe in "secular" and "Christian" fiction. It is all fiction. Granted the theme may be "Christian" or religious in nature, but we are the ones who separate, well, pretty much everything into "Christian" and "non-Christian". So this is one of my arguments why I don't think there really is a "line" between the two. It is a matter of content not "Christian".

Hope you enjoyed reading this post, please feel free to comment and / or share this with your peeps.

28 views
bottom of page