top of page
  • C. J. Korryn

"Mind Melding" With God.



I am going to talk a little about my writing process, not only while I am writing, but also throughout the week when I am not writing. I'm going to start out with something weird and nerdy, I truly believe that I "mind meld" with God, in a sense, when I write. You see I always pray before writing, and because of that I don't get writer's block. I ask God to come down to guide and direct my thoughts and hands as I write. I ask him to mind meld with me. I truly believe we write my fiction together. Weird, I know, but when I operate in the gift of creativity - my favorite method, writing - God and I commune together. So how does that really work for me. Well when I am writing I just write - on occasion I research an aspect of my writing, but generally I just write. I get tons done, I can't really remember (except the time I believe it was a spiritual attack) that I couldn't write.

So, If I believe God and I are communing when I write, how do I know I am writing the right stuff that he wants me to write? Here is how I look at my writing. God gives me something to write, and he might want me to hold off on writing it, or he might want me to start writing it right away. I the time that I really learned that God and I truly commune together during my writing. In short, I had a new story to write, but when I started writing it I had spent an hour and barely got through a half page. I realized then, that God might want me to finish the current book I was writing because on average I write about three pages an hour. That is pretty good. So I went back to that story and sure enough, I was writing three pages an hour again. So, basically, now I only write things that I believe God is okay with me writing, what God wants me to write next, or finish, or start. Right now, I believe God has been asking me to write what I call "mini-shorts" which are stories that I try to keep under 10 pages. This doesn't always happen, but that's okay. My most recent one turned out to be 25 hand written - which will probably be 10-15 typed pages. I feel like, for the time being, he is giving me all of these "mini-shorts" instead of allowing me to write some of my others for a few reasons.

1. because he gives me more and more of them. He gives me more ideas than I have time to write - with a full time job and all - but, I know he will have me write at least some of them later. For now I feel that he wants me to write my min shorts.

2. I haven't had a big desire write any of my other writings - though I would like to. I have roughly about 25-30 story ideas (not counting the sequels or series books). I haven't wanted to stop in the middle of one story and immediately start another, which I have been known to do. Don't get me wrong, I would love to get to them, but I don't have an overwhelming desire to do so.

3. I pray before writing every time and seldom do I feel like I need to write anything, but I simply choose to write - maybe God chooses it with me - which mini-short to write.

So, that is how I feel about my writing, but I still haven't talked about the week surrounding my writing (this would be where my picture connects to the post). So, for the longest time I couldn't put my finger on how I felt about my writing until one Monday Night at "The Project" at Trinity Church in Cedar Hill. I was talking to a friend about my writing and he wanted to pray for me, so we did. After the prayer one of the head leaders at the project spoke some encouraging words over me and pinpointed EXACTLY how I feel about writing. He said that I have this fire burning inside me and that if I don't write, it feels like I will explode. Well...he hit it right on the nail. That is EXACTLY how I feel. My passion for writing has grown exponentially over the past few months, and it doesn't help that I have had several words spoken over me about my writing. Talk about frustration in waiting on God! Simply put, I just want to write, I want to quit my job (don't worry, bosses - if you are reading this - I am not going to quit). As much as I enjoy what I do (teaching), it just pales in comparison to what I REALLY want to do. I constantly think about when the next time I can write. I want to take up "full time writing", but alas, I don't have the funds coming in from my book for that. I have toyed with the idea to try and figure out a way to be able to minimize my bills enough so I could afford to live on a meager amount of earnings a month. I have tossed the idea around of trying to figure out what I could do without so I could walk out my dream of writing for six hours a day five days a week. Who knows, maybe I will toy with the idea more...and maybe next year I will live more like Jesus, with little, but walking in my calling fully. At least that is what I think my calling is - to write. The pastor of The Project mentioned last Monday that sometimes it is more about the journey to the calling, rather than the calling - so maybe it's more about getting there for me, rather than being there.

This brings me to my last point of this unusually, exceptionally long post. How God communes with me throughout the week surrounding my writing. It seems that God tends to give me a LOT of mini-shorts during The Project sermons and church. Just last Monday God gave me another min-short to write. God often gives me inspiration through music, when I am at concerts or even church, based on people's clothing, a statement, or just the building. It is crazy awesome!!! I have started carrying around a little notepad to write down the ideas God gives me.

I could go on, but I will sign off. If you liked this post - even though it was long - please let me know. I have more to say, but I will leave that for another post - maybe next post if I get positive responses from this one.

Until next time.

10 views
bottom of page