top of page
  • C. J. Korryn

SEX...And The Christian Author


Where to start with this one? Sex. It strikes controversy in many Christian households in books, T.V. and movies. There are so many good movies and T.V. shows that, to me, suddenly become not as good because of all of the sex in it. We have all heard of Game Of Thrones - a show with just as much nudity as there is clothed scenes - or so I am told. I don't watch it specifically BECAUSE of that. Then there is a great flick called The Magicians. The first half of the first season was phenomenal, then they introduced "sex magic" which brought the show down - in my opinion. I do still watch that show - though it has been a while since I watched an episode. Why do I watch the latter and not the former when they BOTH have sex scenes in it? Game Of Thrones has total and completely graphic nudity, as to The Magicians does not show "everything". Sure, The Magicians shows quite a bit of skin during the sex scenes, but it does not show full nudity (it still covers the parts we give more honor to - as Apostle Paul would say) at least not that I have seen so far in the series. But the question really is all about justification. I can justify why I watch one, but I choose not to watch the other. Why not just justify watching Game Of Thrones, too? For me, I know Game Of Thrones will not be healthy for me because of the extremely graphic content. The Magicians has much less graphic content and so I deem acceptable to watch.

So, the above example is a great segue into the post topic, Sex in the Christian author's writing. Is it okay to have a sex scene or two in your book, furthermore is it okay to write erotica? My political answer - that is between you and God.

My personal answer - it depends on how graphic the scene. Personally I don't see how a believer can write an erotica book (though it has been done) as there are so many factors in writing this form of book. The visual picture the writer must project, the visual picture the reader imagines, the feelings of lust that can be associated with this. On the other hand, if it is a novel with real characters and real life scenarios....say....for example....the wedding night, then it is expected that the couple are going to do the down right dirty!!!!! The question comes into play, here, is how much do we REALLY need to know, or visualize - especially as a believer. I think we all would agree that in movies there is a difference in the extremely graphic scenes, and the scenes where the couple falls on the bed, removes an item or two of clothing, then the next scene is the two wrapped up in a blanket or sheet (thus the rating system). We all know what they did in both...in the former we might know more specifically than the latter, but we generally know what the couple did either way.

I would have to say that the Christian author CAN have a sex scene in their writing, but I would also say it should be more discrete, than anything. It shouldn't be so graphic that it definitely seems sinful for the reader to read. If you, as a Christian author - especially if you are writing for a Christian audience - don't want to "cause another brother to stumble" then be as discrete in these scenes as possible. From personal experience writing as a Christian author (though the books I am referring to are not marketed for the believer) I have had to figure out a way to add a sex scene in one novel and a seducing scene in another - both without being too graphic. I feel I have accomplished this pretty effectively as to not compromise my writing integrity as a "Christian writer" or bring the reader into an unnecessary visualization of the scene. I, in fact, would call my sex scene more of a "lead into a sex scene" because the scene ends before it gets to that point. Furthermore, I made a specific point in both stories to be as non specific with describing the more sensual aspect of the scenes in order to keep the reader from getting a specific image in their head. Both of my scenes I felt were necessary. For one, it is pivotal to the plot, and for the other, it is not necessarily pivotal for the plot, but I think it is something that would actually have happened in that particular scenario. I think they are both suitable for the mainstream Christian as they are vague enough not to entice the reader into thinking more graphic than necessary, but gets the general romance or seduction portrayed in a generic way as to not "cause a brother to stumble" . There are probably a few more conservative believers that may disagree entirely with me, but this is my opinion.

If you do decide to write a sexually charged scene as a Christian writer think about trying to be as discrete and generic in the scene as possible in order to keep it as little as provocative as possible.

Thanks for reading.

Until next time.

23 views
bottom of page