top of page
  • C. J. Korryn

A New Adventure








So, the picture with this post says it all. “How?”, might you ask? Well, I’ll tell you.

Toward the end of last year, God had started leading me into a new direction in my life. It started probably around October or November with my volunteer ministry. I had been working with the youth group at my church for years. I had always enjoyed it because I was allowed to create lessons and teach a class almost every week. I had always loved teaching the bible.

So, around October or November, I started to feel more like volunteering had become more of a burden than a desire. It had been taking up much of my Saturday morning, preparing for the lesson, and it kept me from working as late on Wednesdays (as I would need to be in youth about 5 to help with check-in and the such.) I just started to view it more as work than ministry. So, December rolls around, and I take a little break for the holidays, taking time to pray about what I should do. Needless to say, the youth pastors had decided to revamp how the volunteer youth counselors participate in the church. This was a confirmation that I should not continue volunteering in youth. The new structure called for the youth leaders to spend a lot of time outside of the church with the youth, going to sports games, social events, etc. and I just couldn’t take the time or responsibility to do that. I stepped down from youth in December, which opened up my time for more writing.

So, that was, I believe, the first phase of my life transition or new adventure. The second phase consisted of “words spoken over me” about writing. Now, the interesting thing is, at least one of the people that spoke over me about my writing actually had no idea I write fiction. God just gave him some words to speak over me. I kept receiving more words about my writing, as well as my passion for writing seemed to skyrocket overnight. I couldn’t get enough time to write. I had started praying about what all of this meant, after much prayer and advice from fellow believers I had felt that God wanted me to start writing full time. This was the second phase of God’s directing me toward a new adventure in faith.

The final step was the timeline that God asked me to begin this new adventure. I had initially talked to my boss and mentioned a desire to go part-time at work (if it were possible) next year (2019-2020 school year). That was a few months ago. Since then, God had really started to impress upon me to go ahead and move that timeline to the 2018-2019 school year. I prayed about this for several more months, concerned that it wasn’t really God, but my own desire. After much prayer and consultation with other men of God, I had come to the conclusion that God desired me to take a faith journey and trust him for my finances as I step out on faith to accomplish his will…even calling…for my life. This will be a great adventure for me.

So how does this really represent the above picture? Well, the ocean is the journey, and if you notice that in the picture there is no destination. There is only the sun, and nothing else but the vastness of the ocean. God has not shown me any more than what he wants me to do….take that first step of faith. I will be adventuring into the unknown like I have never done before, just like the vastness of that ocean contains the unknown for mariners. I am confident that God will provide my every need (not necessarily my wants) and I am sure this new adventure will be one that asks that I trust God like I have never trusted him before.

This new adventure is an exciting adventure and a scary adventure, but it is an adventure that will be more than worth it.

Next post I will be posting about my new online store as well as my new Patreon account. You can find information on both of them right now on my YouTube channel, as I have posted all the info via vlog about them as well.

Thanks for reading. Hope you enjoyed this blog. See you next week.

5 views
bottom of page