top of page
  • C. J. Korryn

"Sacrifices Must Be Made" Part 2.




Okay, so last week I talked about sacrificing in reference to tithe and “the church.” This week I am going to talk about sacrificing in my writing. Last week I focused more on the church and misunderstanding of what it really means to sacrifice – at least for the Christian -even the nonbeliever. God doesn’t limit his blessings to only those who believe in Him, but to everyone who tithes. This may not be the best example, but it is kind of like gravity. The law is there, and we are not harmed when we obey the law, but if we try to defy the law, then there is great potential for disaster….space shuttles and planes falling to the ground, walking off a cliff to bodily injury. The law of gravity protects us from floating off this planet and…well…dying. Another example might be looking at the sun through a telescope, if you don’t use the protective lens to view the sun, then you will go blind. It doesn’t hurt you to look through the lens, but if you don’t, you will go blind.

So, what about my sacrifices in writing. Well, basically there are a lot of stories that I would like to write. I have ideas written down anywhere from a basic character list to a dozen pages already written. For many of them, it has been years since I have written anything in those stories. There are a few that I really, really want to continue with, but I haven’t gotten the go-ahead from God to write. Some of that is because I have had several part-time jobs or a full-time job that prevents me from writing, other than a few times a week. This has made my writing process for the one novel I have felt that God would have me finish before I write any others take a lot longer than I would have liked. Now that I am finally finished with that one and am working on getting it published soon I can start looking at writing some other stories.

This is where the sacrifice comes in. I haven’t necessarily been told not to write them, but I also haven’t been told to finish them. This is not a big deal because, for many of them, it is probably not a yes or no from God, but “Whichever you start, then I will bless” from God. However, I definitely want to write the ones He wants me to write first, and if that means setting aside the stories that I really, really want to write for a while, then I will – until He allows me to write them. I know that if God tells me no on some stories (weather forever or for the time being), then he will give me a yes on others, which will be more beneficial for me to obey Him and write the ones that He says yes to. Like when I was in the middle of writing my Noah’s Ark story. I really wanted to start writing another story God gave me at a concert (you can find out more about this by watching my YouTube video “Writing With God.”) Well, in short, I figured out that, although God gave me the idea, He wanted me to finish writing my Noah’s Ark story first. I am looking forward to seeing what God specifically guides me into writing next. If He has no specific story for me to write and finish, I will probably jump back and forth between a half dozen – one of them being my serial novel I am writing for Patreon (you can read this story by clicking on my Patreon link.)

So, my view on sacrificing for God in my writing is that it really isn’t a sacrifice, because I know God will bless me in my writing and I will still probably eventually get to write them anyway…. just not right now. That is the way it is with the whole tithe and all too, it really isn’t a sacrifice because we know that God ALWAYS keeps us blessed. Just try it. Tithe for six months, then stop for two months…..see how things are no longer “protected” and “blessed” with long life and the such.

Thanks for reading, and check out all my social media platforms!

Until next week.

7 views
bottom of page