top of page
  • C. J. Korryn

Faith and Reason




What is having real faith and what is just being plain foolish? How do we draw the line between following God and merely making poor unreasonable choices in life? There isn’t an easy answer to this for the believer that tries to follow wholeheartedly the path that Christ lays out for him or her. Let’s think about all of the historical figures in the Bible. Abram made quite a foolish decision to leave all that he knew and just start walking, not knowing where he would end up. The teenage boy David ran up to a man about 13 or so feet tall and probably more muscular than Schwarzenegger and fought him. Then there was the three guys who refused to bow….I mean….come on….all they had to do was take a knee….it’s not like they had to REALLY WORSHIP the king, just look like they were. Daniel, who prayed publically even though his life would have been forfeit. Let’s not forget the disciples, leaving everything to follow Jesus. Paul, deciding to be the kind of person he was trying to kill. Pretty much anyone in the new testament after a while would become outlaws if they believed on Jesus. We also have the church age of the crazy believers who go to countries and preach the gospel, knowing if they get caught they will be killed or imprisoned. What looks like foolishness to us is sometimes a move of God in our lives to accomplish great things….and sometimes….in the end….costs our lives. How is that not foolishness? But where do we draw the line? How do we REALLY know that we are following the will of God and not just making a stupid decision?

This is something I had recently had to figure out in my own life with my writing. I kind of talked about that in one of my earlier posts so I won’t harp on that part too much. The problem I face all the time is insecurity of KNOWING if I am actually following what God actually wants for me, or if I am just using him for my own desires. The foolishness of going part-time at my job so that I have very little to live on. Basically, living on just enough to pay my bills with not much money after that….if any after that. Is it foolishness, probably, but so it was with all of those I mentioned above. God uses the foolish things in life to confound the wise. This foolish behavior of mine will be determined as a poor decision or a foolish idea from God soon, I think. If He provides, which I think he will -even if He didn’t actually call me to go part-part time and work on writing full time, I am still walking by faith, so I think He will bless it. The foolish ideas from God never turn out to be foolish in the end….at least in the eyes many of our fellow believers. Even if we die, it isn’t foolishness, for we get rewards in heaven that we can lay down at His feet.

I guess to end this post I will just say, as believers the question we must ask ourselves is if the foolish idea is an idea from God, or that God will bless. Of course, we must not forget to pray and even fast about it. We must always determine in our hearts that our foolish ideas glorify God in some way and isn’t about us. So our faith is foolishness. Our faith is not a faith of reason – well at least to some extent. One can reason very well the existence of God, creation, sin, etcetera, but that is not what I am talking about. That might be a good post for another time if peeps want to hear that. Thanks for reading.

9 views
bottom of page