top of page
  • C. J. Korryn

Me, Me, Me.



So, this post might be a shorter post than usual because I don’t think the subject matter will be very long, and it is pretty much all about me - well one of my goals at least - hence the title. I actually wrote about this subject matter in a previous post, and I posted a vlog episode last week that talks about the same idea as I will be writing about today.

About a month ago I posted one of my “mini-shorts” as I call them, on my Facebook page for people to read. Most of my “mini-shorts” are fictional accounts of Bible stories. A week later I am talking to a friend at church about it, and he mentions that he wants to read it. Long story short, the next week I see him again, and he told me that he read the story and liked it. This isn’t really the cool part – I mean, yes, I want people to read my stuff and like it, but that’s not what I got excited about. He told me that after reading my story that he went back and found the passage that the story was inspired from in the Bible. NOW THAT IS THE COOL THING!

I have mentioned before that one of my goals – my main goal – in writing these Bible stories as fiction stories is that I hope that eventually someone would read the stories and maybe go back to the Bible and reread the story. It is my goal to bring the Bible to life with these stories. Not that the Bible is a terrible book, or boring. To be honest, yes, I think parts of the Bible are boring…like everybody…. let's think of the book of Leviticus…..but the stories about the characters (both in the Old Testament and the New Testament) I really enjoy reading. The book of acts is great and even the Epistles. I enjoy the Epistles because they just give great wisdom – of course, it being the Bible.

What I mean by bringing the Bible to life is to bring the characters to life so that we can relate to these biblical figures. We can feel what the characters might have felt and get a glimpse into the (possible) personality of the characters. Basically, we can almost become these characters in my fiction so that the next time we read the bible stories, we get a clearer idea of what the person might have actually gone through rather than merely reading “Jesus healed the man.” Well, how did the man react, what was he like before, what was he feeling before, during, and after the event? My goal in re-writing Bible stories is to bring people closer “into” the events of the Bible, and hopefully help the Bible to impact the reader just a little more by bringing the characters to life – as people, rather than just a name in a book.

So, I said ALL of that to say that the coolest thing about this person reading my fiction is that he told me it really changed how he saw the story in the bible. It made him look at the story differently. That is what I want to happen all the time for my readers of these Bible mini-shorts. My “end-game” in writing these stories has already begun to come to pass. I haven’t even published any of the mini-shorts, and I am already seeing this come fruition. I can only imagine what God will do when I have published 15 or 20 of these Bible stories. Honestly, a few months ago I was truly thinking how silly it is to think that God would REALLY use my fiction as “a ministry”….but….foolish me…..if God can create everything out of nothing, then, of course, He can use my fiction to impact the world in great ways – especially if He REALLY has called me to write fiction.

-lesson learned-

17 views
bottom of page